Oct 28, 2008

How a Simple Checklist Can Dramatically Reduce Medical Errors


On Call Audio Conference
How a Simple Checklist Can Dramatically Reduce Medical Errors

Monday, November 3, 2008
5:30 - 6:30 PM Eastern Time
4:30 - 5:30 PM Central Time
3:30 - 4:30 PM Mountain Time
2:30 - 3:30 PM Pacific Time


Often the simplest tool can make the biggest difference.

In 2003, ICUs in Michigan implemented a humble checklist of basic hygiene and sterilization practices. After three months, infection rates dropped from 2.7 per 1,000 patients to zero.
After 18 months, more than 1,500 lives had been saved.

Since then, checklist creator Peter Pronovost, MD, has developed several other checklists that have helped clinicians across the world dramatically reduce the medical errors that lead to hospital infections. As a result, TIME magazine named him one of the 100 most influential people of 2008 and he recently received a "genius grant” from the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

Join us for a conversation with Dr. Pronovost and learn:
• What inspired him to develop the checklist
• How patients and caregivers benefit from the use of checklists
• The hurdles and surprises he encountered in implementing the first checklist
• The best way to go about getting your own improvement suggestions adopted

Join the Discussion
Advanced registration is required.
Click here to register.
Don’t forget to write down the passcode you’re assigned since you will need it to join the call.


This free call is part of a monthly audio conference series that brings experts in health care improvement together with students from medicine, nursing, dentistry, pharmacy, health care management, public health, and other allied health professions. Each hour-long call is moderated by a student, ends with a question-and-answer period, and focuses on an issue that affects you. Visit our website to download audio files or written transcripts of past On Call audio conferences.

3 comments:

Anonymous said...

He just mentioned a website where he had a recording. It went by too fast. Can you please post the link?

Eva said...

I believe the website that Dr. Pronovost mentioned is: www.safetyresearch.jhu.edu

You can also hear a recording of the audio call at www.ihi.org/IHI/Programs/IHIOpenSchool/OnCallPeterPronovostChecklists.htm

Anonymous said...

Who knows where to download XRumer 5.0 Palladium?
Help, please. All recommend this program to effectively advertise on the Internet, this is the best program!